Night Tree – NaPoWriMo Day 4

I call
like a chipper, chirpy bird
At night it seems
out of place
but I don’t mind.

“Mary, you gonna come down?”

Fly down, come play
with me.

My had reaches
patting the rough bark
like a pillow
for my forehead.

How do I get her down?
How do I make it better?

I go inside
and bring back
my little red chair.
Set it against the tree
and

I look up
for permission.

Her smile reaches me
through the shadows
And I climb high
In the dark,
but for me

it’s like I memorized
this tree already.

***

This post is a series I’m creating for National Poetry Writing Month.  30 poems in 30 days..

Leave a Reply

